The fleeting nature of blogs

Well, I’ve successfully subscribed to all of my regularly-read sites through The Old Reader, which is as much like Google Reader as everyone claimed. I actually enjoyed the process because I did it by hand, which means that I got to weed out all of the sites that I subscribed to that are now completely defunct. And surprisingly there are very few sites left. Literally, less than 20 feeds remain.

Feel free to recommend good blogs to me to broaden my horizon. (Why do people think the phrase is “broaden my horizons”? Who has more than one horizon?) I like personal blogs that have personality, update roughly once a week, and don’t blog for profit. Ready, set, recommend!

It was interesting to click on some of the older feeds and wonder why the authors had disappeared. One person had just been fired, so it was easy to see why she might have fallen off the blogging bandwagon. Another had a few entries about a new boy, then the silence of a sudden life offline. Others had made a last attempt at blogging that promised, “I know it’s been awhile, but I will try to be around more…” And then they never came back. But most of the bloggers were posting along normally, then inexplicably just stopped one day. And many of them had been great bloggers!

It’s really quite sad when people fall off the face of the Internet. The anonymity of it all makes it insanely difficult to ever find them again. I will always remember this one woman that I used to follow, but will never find again. She had a beautifully minimalist site and lifestyle. She was also insanely optimistic and positive, even though there were allusions to some terrible things in her past. (Health related? And some major drama with a significant other? I don’t remember all the details exactly, but it made her optimism particularly intriguing.) I found her site when it was a few years old and I literally read every entry. It’s very rare for me to scour an archive like that, but she was just that interesting. Like seriously, the most interesting blogger I’ve ever read, for reasons I can’t even properly articulate. And then one day, she was gone. So it goes…

I apologize in advance for the day that this blog inevitably falls off the face of the Internet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The fleeting nature of blogs

  1. Manda says:

    I’ve debated doing a post about great blogs that sadly are no longer in existence, or to online friends (whether or not they blogged) that just disappeared one day. It’s always so strange to think that it’s going to be next to impossible to find out whatever happened to the blogger and/or the blog. 😦

  2. Kristine says:

    I hate falling in love with great blogs that all of sudden cease to be updated. A little of me dies inside when that happens. 😦 Don’t disappear any time soon!!!

  3. Liz(a) says:

    I’ve personal blogs listed @ http://6birds.net/reads. Sherry blogs about a number of topics, and I fell in love with her blog because of her self-development posts. 🙂

    I, too, dislike it when blogs just fall off the face of the Internet! It’s so depressing. 😦 And I miss them. :/

  4. It really is sad how some bloggers just disappear. One great blogger was Kelsey who I know has tried to get back into blogging, but has been unable to.

    I just hate when they disappear, but I hate more how they “promise” to come back but then never do. :c

    URL: http://ashleyschackow.com

  5. Stephanie says:

    I looked at your list of people, and compared it to my list of people, and found the people on my list that I thought that you’d enjoy, and then found that they had all basically dropped off the face of the Internet.

    A while back I tried to find the people I used to blog with in high school. One is now a niche blogger, one now has a tumblr-like thing, and the rest are all gone. Even though I’ll never know where they went, I sure hope that their lives are good!

  6. Amanda says:

    I reaaally need to stop disappearing. Like holy shit. Okay, I’m gonna blog now.

  7. eemusings says:

    I applaud your choice to move to WP. As a commenter, the surest way to put me off is the Blogger commenting system!

    I’m sure it’s inevitable I will disappear someday; I just can’t imagine it happening anytime soon. I have too much to say and am too much of a navel gazer.

Leave a Reply

