Uncertainty

I’ve resigned from my job for next year, which means that in four months I will be treading water in the middle of nowhere. The few jobs and leads that I’ve gone for have panned out to a big fat nothing. I have no clue what my next step should even be. So, most likely, in four months I will yet again be unemployed and homeless and aimless.

I wish that I was the type of person who took uncertainty like that and sprung into action, felt inspired to try new routes, and got shit done. Instead, I’m the type of person to sit around and complain on my blog about my precarious situation. I spend more time watching old tv shows than even pretending there is hope for me. Which is silly. I still have four months. I’m not dead yet.

But alas… the tv shows… they call….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Uncertainty

  1. Kristine says:

    Are you going back to America, at least? If you were able to find another job after the first one didn’t pan out, there’s got to be other places for work.

    • mmarinaa says:

      I am looking for a certain caliber of job here and if I get it, then it will be far better than anything I could get in the States. The jobs of that caliber are limited, though. Yes, I could most likely find another job, but I don’t want it if it’s the same type of school/package as the one I’m at now.

      If I don’t get a job of the right caliber, then I’ll head back to America.

  2. Manda says:

    I was going to ask the same thing as Kristine – is your tentative plan to stick it out in Abu Dhabi for a while longer or expand the job search to the States? Or another country, perhaps?

    • mmarinaa says:

      My ideal plan is to get the right kind of job here. (See my response to Kristine.)

      I am also searching in the States, vaguely, but it’s pretty useless to search for teaching jobs in the States while overseas. Nobody’s going to interview a teacher through Skype when there are hundreds of other applicants with the same (or better) qualifications who’re available in person to interview and demo lesson. Also, the teacher hiring-season in the States is June and August. So if I find nothing here, I’ll return mid-July and that’s when the real job hunt would begin, in theory….

      I’m not really considering going to another country because I miss stability and the America’s lifestyle and homogeneity. Plus the money for teaching abroad is not as great as they play it up to be, with the notable exception of the Middle East…

  3. Sabrina says:

    Here’s to the great unknown! My advice is to read books.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Good luck! I do someday hope that you’ll be able to return to America, though.

Leave a Reply

