Making Do

Sharing a kitchen with five girls that I almost never talk to (because we have nothing in common and four of them speak barely basic English) is an extremely frustrating experience. There’s never enough room in the fridge. They’re nowhere near as clean as I am. If they spill water on the floor, they don’t understand why it might be annoying to your roommates to just leave it there. They move my things and unnecessarily take up counter space.

And then there’s the general shoddiness of the kitchen. The sinks don’t drain properly. The tile is past the point of ever being clean again. It is very possible there are cockroaches just waiting to come play. The gas oven is so old that it has to be lit with a match. And then today the gas oven decided that it did not want to be lit at all. I cannot figure out why. I’ve lit it many times before, but yesterday it wouldn’t light and today I still can’t get it to ignite, so I give up on it!

But the silver lining is that today I learned that you can make brownies in the microwave. And it is insanely fast. And a little explody. But totally worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Do

  1. Stephanie says:

    You know, doesn’t a puddle of water on the floor bother them at all? Roommates aside, that’d be why I’d clean up my own spills!

    Yay brownies! šŸ˜€

  2. Karin says:

    That doesn’t sound very fun at all… :/ I assume that if they speak very little English there’s no point trying to talk to them about the kitchen situation?

    I heard about microwave brownies but never made it myself. You just mix everything in a mug and put it in the microwave, right? Must try that sometime!

  3. Amanda says:

    You should like, add some soap or something, sneakily, to that puddle of water… see if slipping and tripping leads them to mop it up!!!

Leave a Reply

