Oddities of Abu Dhabi

It’s been rainy here in Abu Dhabi. Which is not normal, yet it’s supposed to continue throughout the week. Today it poured during second break for about ten minutes, and the students went nuts. I had my most unruly class right after the break; needless to say we accomplished next to nothing.

But I made a stew today and the weather was very fitting for that. I made it from sheep. The sheep was slaughtered by my boyfriend’s family to thank Allah for his survival/recovery from the boat explosion. They slaughtered two sheep, gave some to charity and some to friends and family.

And I’m sure if you lived here, we’d all be friends and you’d get some sacrificial meat too. At the very least, you’d get the rain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oddities of Abu Dhabi

  1. Stephanie says:

    It’s rainy in a desert? Let the plants drink!

    I’m glad to hear that your boyfriend is okay! Was the sheep tasty?

  2. mmarinaa says:

    I read today that they’re cloud seeding, so perhaps that’s the explanation. And the plants did drink! Today I noticed lots of plants I see every day that seemed to have grown immensely overnight!

    And yes, the sheep was indeed delicious, hehe.

  3. Kristine says:

    Glad to hear your boyfriend is doing well. And mmmm sheep! My kind of meat. 😛

  4. Liz(a) says:

    I don’t eat sheep, but it’s interesting to hear that people still make animal sacrifices! I’m glad your boyfriend is doing well. 🙂 After a break, I don’t really think that teachers can easily get their students to get anything done… Perhaps once school has been back in session a little longer they’ll finally start cracking down on their studies. :p

Leave a Reply

