Next year’s job

When I first came to this country in September 2011, I worked at a school that my friend worked at. We had issues with the job and were making adjustments to the new country, but we were trying. I made lots of friends, I was starting to get the hang of things, I had a boyfriend, I had travel plans, everything seemed ok. Then I was fired in December 2011.

Luckily, I got a new job. I won’t get into details because there are too many, but the new job was definitely a step down. (In terms of quality of job, life, benefits, everything.) But I didn’t want to have yet another short term job on my resume. So I stuck it out. For a year and a half, I sucked up my pride and dealt with this second school.

But at the end of June, my contract will be finished. So for next school year, I could step back up again. I went back to that first school I worked at and I said, “Hi, remember me?” And they said, “Why should we hire you back?” And I said, “Because I am a much stronger teacher now!” And they said, “Ok.”

And that is the story of how I got my new-old job for next year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Next year’s job

  1. Stephanie says:

    Congratulations! Let’s hope that things work out this time. I’m sure that you have more wasta now.

  2. Chantelle says:

    Congrats – it was smart of you to make that attempt at changing jobs again. 🙂 Good luck.

  3. Kristine says:

    You’re pretty ballsy for going back there. I hope this second time around things go much more smoothly for you!

Leave a Reply

