I’ll probably never be a waitress

Today I was failing to take a nap and my brain was running its crazy zigzags. And I was thinking about how next year I want to get a serving tray. (I’m going to have a normal apartment again, so I intend to do a lot of hosting.) And my mind was tra-la-ing along about how I can learn to hold it with one hand and it will be great practice for when I’m a waitress.

Then I remembered that I will probably never be a waitress. I will probably just teach for the rest of my life. I used to imagine a million different careers for myself and do weird things to prepare, like learn to type really fast (for when I became a transcriber) or draw a thousand floor plans (for when I became an architect.) But I can give all of that up now, if I so desire, because my career is pretty settled. Because I am old now and we old folk have settled careers.

Now, I know you’re all thinking “people change careers roughly a thousand times these days!” But I’m not people. I’m going to be a teacher forever and ever and ever. And I’ll only get to carry my tray with one hand in my own house. And nobody will tip me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ll probably never be a waitress

  1. Liz says:

    Whenever I had decided to be a teacher, I quickly began typing up my own rubric. Now, I look at all of the little things I prepared for myself for when I teach match, and all I can think of is how fun it was to make them, but then I dread actually having to use them. It doesn’t seem like something I would actually want to spend the rest of my life doing.

    I think that’s similar to you. :p I’ve also spent a lot of my time looking up recipes for when I become a chef, even though I almost always fail when I try to cook different things and experiment. I’ve also rehearsed dance moves for when I become a choreographer for music videos or just a general dance teacher, and I once researched all about directing movies for when I became a casting director or just a general director. I think I wouldn’t mind being a casting director, actually, so maybe that one is still possible. xD

    It’s too bad life is so short that we have to choose just one job. ;x It would be so fun to get to try so many jobs in one lifetime!

  2. Stephanie says:

    I was a waitress for a while. Learning to carry trays in one hand and to walk around holding four cups isn’t too hard. (Totally not the point of your post, I know.)

    I used to tell myself that I wanted to try a bit of everything. But in college I learned that there isn’t enough time to try everything, so I just picked a subject and ran with it, because knowing one subject well seems to be more useful than knowing term subjects poorly. I hope that teaching works out in the end!

  3. I love these last two posts. You know that phrase “Live every day like it’s your last”? I hate that phrase. Sometimes I get exhausted trying to live like a free spirit, not bound by a traditional occupation and free to galavant about the world as I please. I’ve done it for as long as I can remember and there are many rewards but there are also many things you give up, like stability for one. Sometimes I just want to give in and get a job with a 401K and a health plan. I hope I’m not missing the point of your articles. I just feel like sometimes it’s OK to be happy in the life that we’ve created thus far without throwing constant challenges at ourselves.

Leave a Reply

