Anniversary of life’s beginning

Today is my birthday. I spent the weekend in Ras al Khaimah (I’ll write more about that later) with my boyfriend and another couple we’re friends with. There were highs and lows to the weekend, but overall I am very glad that we went. On the way home, my boyfriend made a comment about how we’d be back in Abu Dhabi in about 40 minutes, and suddenly I got very quiet and sad. After a few hours back in the city, I found myself watching The Bucket List and sending my boyfriend home so that I could cry alone. I wasn’t sad because of him or the movie, I was just sad about everything.

There’s a quote floating around that advises, “Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape from.” But I hate that quote. I am so sick of the entitled idea that I have the power to create a magical life free of all unhappiness. The world still exists around me. And there are going to be times where things just suck. There will always be responsibilities. There will always be interactions with humans and drama. Life is never going to be all in order and nice and a constant vacation.

A birthday is a reminder of life. And life is sad sometimes. So it’s very normal for me to cry on my birthday. But that’s ok. It’s just how things are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anniversary of life’s beginning

  1. Kristine says:

    Happy birthday! (Well, I hope your birthday would be much happier.)

    I have those bouts of sadness because I feel like my life sucks terribly and that things just do not run smoothly enough, but I realized I am expecting far too much. Nothing ever goes the way we ever want it to. That’s life, unfortunately. That’s why we should all try to make the most out of our life (so cliché) no matter how shittastic it is. Just make the most out of it. It is definitely easier said than done, though.

  2. Liz says:

    Happy belated birthday! Whether it makes you feel better, I cried for a while on my birthday. Where I am in my life currently and what I am doing right now isn’t what I had planned for myself. I hate that quote, too; sometimes shit just happens. I went from being a girl wishing she was a princess waiting for her fairytale to a woman who doesn’t believe fairytales truly exist anymore.

    I hope things are going well for you, and that they grow easier.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Happy birthday!

    And yes, there should definitely be vacations, otherwise life will get mundane no matter how happy it is. I hope that you’re feeling better now!

Leave a Reply

