Please fill me in

The other day I was with some friends and the topic of the most powerful woman in the world came up. I don’t remember who they suggested, but I got overly-indignant at their inferior pick. So I said, “What about Hilary Clinton, the friggin Secretary of State for the most powerful country in the world?” And they were like, “Uh, dummy, she resigned. Like six months ago.”

My jaw hit the floor.

Then I read someone’s blog entry about being out of the loop. And I left a beautiful comment which included how I find the DOMA decision absolutely banal. Gay marriage has been legal in the Netherlands since 2001. America sort of maybe coming around is like… showing up to a party when the host has already gone to bed. And I am far more interested in the party when it’s really happening.

However, in a few days I am returning to the land of narcissism and self-referential monologue. My jokes about Israel will not be funny in the land that teaches that Palestine was never a nation. So I need some new material. What’s important in the good ol’ US of A these days? Is Obama still the president? Is North West really that baby’s name? Which alcoholic beverage are the hipsters drinking? And which ehtnicity’s wardrobe should I be appropriating to win most stylish? Should I learn how to twerk? Please help me to fill the gaps in my knowledge!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Please fill me in

  1. Is it ironic that the people of the land of narcissism also think we have the most powerful country in the world? Or is it just right? šŸ˜‰ I have been finding it interesting since moving abroad to learn that what people think of us from the outside is pretty different to what we imagine!

    • mmarinaa says:

      I do actually think America is the most powerful country in the world. It is abundantly clear here in the UAE, where my passport is a golden ticket. Or travelling with my Lebanese boyfriend, who gets stopped at every single airport’s passport check for questions while I breeze through everything with my nose upturned. Or when applying for jobs, and all the Arabs are lamenting their difficulties finding anything and knowing that I can find a job in less than a week solely because of my American passport and English abilities.

  2. Kristine says:

    And I left a beautiful comment which included how I find the DOMA decision absolutely banal. Gay marriage has been legal in the Netherlands since 2001. America sort of maybe coming around is likeā€¦ showing up to a party when the host has already gone to bed. And I am far more interested in the party when itā€™s really happening.

    You made me chuckle. And America is truly late to the party.

    It seems to me like I’m missing a lot of news also. I did not know Clinton resigned…! (facepalm)

  3. Kristine says:

    Have a safe trip back to the States, btw!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Yup, John Kerry’s the Secretary of State now. Hillary Clinton may run for President again, and if she wins she’ll definitely be the most powerful woman on the planet.

    The states are about the same as they were when you left, I think. Except for the NSA spying scandal (which people I think have joked about for years) breaking out recently, which made lots of people no longer trust Obama, the states are probably still much the same. If you come to the west coast, go get yourself some cute dresses and you will be super stylish!

  5. Liz says:

    I don’t really know much about what has been going on… The news and whatnot has been really stupid lately. There’s the Trayvon case and trying to prove that Zimmerman is innocent (don’t even get me started on that), Steph mentioned the NSA thing, there’s still the gay rights fight (that’s so redundant; they shouldn’t have limits — they should live free like us), Obama is unfortunately still the president, and America really does think it’s very powerful. That’s actually annoying, thought, because so many people in this country are forgetting that there are so many more countries and places on this planet than merely the USA.

Leave a Reply

