Taxes make me feel old

I’m currently on a plane on my way to Qatar, then back to my beloved New York City. I’ll be spending about three weeks in NYC, then heading to Mexico. I haven’t booked the next flight yet, but it will be to Chicagoland to see my hometown family and friends.

The reason I haven’t booked that flight is because of taxes. Despite the fact that I work in a different country, America feels that my income should be taxed at the same rate as if America was providing me the job and services of daily life. It’s pure bullshit and I refuse to pay it. Unfortunately, the most IRS-proof way to avoid the tax is to stay out of the country for 330 days of a consecutive year. Which means that my vacation can only include roughly 30 days on US soil. (Travel days to and from the US are counted towards your US days. Because America’s a bitch like that.)

My employer hasn’t booked my flight back to Abu Dhabi yet. So until I know that date and can add up the days, I don’t want to book the flight. Unfortunately, I’ll already be in NYC for 23 days, so I can only be in Chicagoland for 12 days (inclusive of travel days.) It’s all sorts of crap.

But nonetheless, I am still very excited to be returning to the motherland. America and all its ridiculous bureaucracy, here I come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taxes make me feel old

  1. Liv says:

    Welcome back to NYC!

    I had no idea even if you work in a different country you are taxed like an American. That’s the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard, and Obama is president. Is this because you are employed through an American company, or something else related to USA? I find it hard to believe if I get up and go to Hong Kong I’d have to give up 30something% of my hard work to the ridiculous government. But I wouldn’t mind spending 330 days a year off this soil. I’d just visit NYC in July.

  2. Marianne says:

    My dad works in Saudi Arabia, but he has the same tax issue, and he’s not even a US citizen — only a permanent resident! So he’s very careful about the number of days he spends in the US each year. Luckily my mom has a brother living in Canada, so sometimes they’ll just meet there… so weird.

Leave a Reply

