Fear of death

The other day I was coming home at 8am after a night of partying with a friend. As we walked through her hipster/hispanic neighborhood, we saw a small yapping dog. I never pet dogs that I don’t know and I loathe yappy dogs, but for whatever reason I decided that it was my job to calm it. I got down to its level and pet it and let it on my lap. And somehow its tooth ended up in my nostril!

As we walked away, I noticed that my nose was bleeding. A lot. I kept touching it, wondering how a small scratch from a dog tooth could make so much blood. When we got home, I washed out my nose with antibacterial soap and went to sleep.

Four hours later, I had to go to Boston. I was dead tired and possibly delirious, but I was convinced that I had rabies. And I’m too poor to afford the crazy shots you’re supposed to get. But I also didn’t want to die. And neither my friends nor their doctor friends could convince me that I didn’t have rabies. The entire four hour ride and most of the weekend, I kept going on about when I was going to start showing signs.

I was legitimately scared of dying from the rabies. I don’t want to die!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fear of death

  1. Kristine says:

    I would be freaking out too, but then again, I’m the one that started freaking out over an encapsulated ingrown hair on my boob.

    Did you at least get yourself checked out?!! The fact that you’re actually blogging about it tells me you are just fine.

  2. Jessica says:

    Yikes! I tell my Mom that I’m not scared of dogs…just ones that are big or ones that I don’t know. 😛 I hope that everything turns out okay.

  3. Stephanie says:

    The internet says that you’ve got a few months to get yourself checked or if you’re worried. My guess is that you’re actually okay, but it doesn’t hurt to see a doctor anyway. I hope that all is well!

  4. Liz says:

    It’s quite gross that his tooth ended up in your nose! Hopefully all is alright. If you don’t get rabies, make sure to watch for any kind of infection from it! Infections seem more common. 😉

  5. Of all the places to be bitten, the inside of your nose must have hurt! The only thing I know about rabies is that it makes nocturnal animals go out in the daytime, but unless you’re a vampire I guess that won’t help you much!

  6. Liv says:

    I’m not sure why your friends are trying to “convince” you that you are alright, if they don’t have proof. I don’t know the process of what to do after getting bitten by a dog, but it’s important that you either go to the doctor or get the expensive shots. Knowing New York you don’t know what kind of dog it is.

    Anyways, as someone who recently had a run-in with a serious health issue, please take care of yourself and good luck!

  7. Shot says:

    That sounds like it really must have hurt! I can imagine the paranoia, too – whenever anyone tells me something that could be wrong, I instantly get really paranoid. I agree that yappy dogs are something to be disliked – I like big dogs like labradors which seem a lot friendlier imo. I hope your nose is okay! 😉

Leave a Reply

