Movie suggestions

I’m currently in my hometown, in the house I’ve grown up in since birth.

Mexico was lovely. The friend I stayed with owns roughly one gazillion movies, so we watched a lot of them. He also has a penchant for movies that feature international locales, which is so much more interesting than constant American settings. None of the movies were Best Picture, Oscar-worthy, per se, but they were all infinitely more interesting than Red 2.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen– The title is literally the goal of the characters in the movie. While it is sadly not based on a true story, it is totally reminiscent of the types of outlandish projects that rich sheikhs could envision and execute. Also, the sheikh in the movie was well-played and endearing, especially in his conception of faith.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel– A pretty film about exporting old age to India (instead of Florida?) Which is an absolutely amazing idea and I’m shocked it doesn’t exist in real life. The scenes of India were of course far neater than real life, but the problems of India were well depicted. And the old folk were absolutely adorable.

The Kingdom– It’s about a group of Americans who go to Saudi Arabia to investigate an act of terrorism. The cast made me skeptical, and I constantly wanted to remind Jennifer Garner that she had been on Alias and shouldn’t cry so much. But the portrayal of Saudi and the tensions and conflicts were pretty true to form. My biggest qualm was how absolutely bitchy the Americans were to the Saudis, but it’s quite possible that’s actually how many people would act.

I also watched Argo, but it was awful and sensationalist and biased. I don’t suggest it at all. Definitely watch one of the aforementioned flicks instead. Happy watching!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie suggestions

  1. Kristine says:

    I was wondering if you were still in Mexico… Looks like you’re having a vacation from your vacay. 😛

    I like your movie recommendations, I should watch these before grad school starts.

Leave a Reply

