Define home

I’m currently flying out of this silly land and back to Abu Dhabi.

This summer has caused me to look very closely at where I might call home in the future. Do I really want to move back to a country that puts corn syrup in everything? Can I really live in a city with terrible infrastructure? Do I really want to be around people who don’t know if the word “Arab” is racist? I just don’t know how much I want to be back in the American bubble…

I think a lot of my displeasure with America stems from my estrangement from it though. My current home is not here right now, and that’s very clear.

I am sure that if I was actually settling in and setting up a permanent life here, I would learn to love the bubble again. But for now, I am super excited to unpack the bag that I’ve lugged through too many airports in my apartment in Abu Dhabi. I cannot wait for everything to have a place. I cannot wait to know exactly what is in my fridge. I cannot wait to sleep next to my boyfriend. I cannot wait for “I’m going home” to be a reference to my home rather than whoever’s couch I’m staying on.

Desertland is “home” these days. And I can’t wait to be back in it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Define home

  1. Manda says:

    “Home” to me is a city I haven’t lived in since I was five. It’s all relative.

  2. Kristine says:

    It’s definitely all relative. For me, I consider my room in the condo in this new city my “home” more than the household from hell that I grew up in and lived in for nearly 19 years.

  3. callistonian says:

    “Home” is my mom. It’s also the house I grew up in. Where I actually live changes, though, and I don’t know where I want to settle down (or even if I want to settle down), but I know that I want my kids to be US citizens and to spend a serious amount of time going to school in the States. I hope you get back to “home” soon and that your trip is comfortable.

  4. pollyheath says:

    It’s amazing how our definition of home changes so quickly. Every time I come… “home” to the US, I realize it’s not really my home anymore. Bittersweet.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Home is definitely relative. Better that way, otherwise you’d be homesick all the time.

    For me, home is LA, but I can’t tell that to my parents otherwise, they’ll feel sad. For my parents, home is their house in New England, but they can’t tell that to their parents in Taiwan otherwise my grandparents would feel sad… lol cycle!

  6. Liz says:

    Home is definitely where the heart is. For me, it’s a place I’ve never even been. Actually, I don’t even know if such a place happens to exist yet.

  7. Karin says:

    The only place I feel is home is the village where I grew up, unfortunately it’s a place I can’t really go back to. There are no jobs there, especially not in my field of work, and most people I knew have moved away. In other words I need to find a new place, a new home. I’ve moved many times since I left the village but so far I haven’t found it.

  8. Amanda says:

    I say, home is where my cat is! Although it’s quite confusing now and I have to spell out “mum’s house” versus “my flat” to people.

Leave a Reply

