Consumerism

Recently I was stalking a friend of mine and found myself thinking, “I need a leather jacket.” She’s wearing one in a few of her pictures and it looks quite lovely.

My next thought was, “Need? You need a leather jacket? Seriously? Who are you?”

My financial situation has been pretty precarious for the past few years. Details are irrelevant, but I never really felt like I was in a place where I could make wishlists or buy things, unless I would use them to death. But now, inshaallah, I might just be in a place where I can purchase a few things that I just want for the sake of wanting… This summer, for example, I took advantage of cheaper American prices and bought five dresses. Five new dresses! All within a few months! And two of them were only slightly on sale! (As opposed to my usual tactic of only buying super clearance.)

It’s awful.

But for the sake of consumerism, here is my current wishlist: leather jacket, black and white striped shirt, new cute tank tops, comfortable heels, black fancy sandals, layering necklaces, tote bag, hamper, nice spare set of sheets, second chair for bedroom, small plant, artwork for walls (or canvases and paint), garlic press….

And I could probably go on if I thought about it any longer. Someone please slap the consumerism out of me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Consumerism

  1. Stephanie says:

    None of the things on your wishlist strike me as stupid or wasteful. Leather jackets are handy from time to time. It’s nice to mix up your outfits once in a while! It’s also too bad that, at least in California, comfortable heels are invariably expensive.

    I guess… just buy things slowly? Maybe the consumerism will fade for a bit.

  2. Jordianne says:

    I’ve had an impression that most people who live (whether locals or expats) in the Middle East are of the consumerist bunch. I have a couple of cousins who are there and my sister-in-law is now based there, too. So it’s a bit surprising that you don’t happen to be one of them and that you spend rather wisely. And your wishlist are still needs and not wants, for me at least. 🙂

  3. Kristine says:

    Think of it this way – at least you’re not itching for the latest Apple toys, now that’s what I call consumerism.

  4. Sarai says:

    I’m a bargain hunter and sometimes will walk out of a store without an item just because it wasn’t on sale. I’ve always told myself that I’ll know I’ve made it when I walk into a store and I don’t buy one thing on sale.

  5. Amanda says:

    I wear my leather jackets (yes, plural) to death. Like, so so so so so so much. I’m always wearing one or the other. But I guess I’m that kinda person, so…

    Your list is good though, there’s nothing unreasonable about it. And I would totally send you art for your room!

Leave a Reply

