The rarity of rain

Something exciting happened today. It rained.

This morning I walked out of the building to get breakfast from the corner grocery and the wind was absurdly strong. And it smelled like rain. I smell it so rarely that it’s such a mood booster, and I didn’t even care that it had felt like the longest week ever. And as the bus drove towards the school, drops started to fall, and I said to my friend, “I wish this had started an hour earlier.”

Because school was totally going to be cancelled because of rain.

I started to go about my morning getting-ready routine at school, and I had to walk across the school courtyard and it was slippery from the rain that was steadily falling and I smiled. The school day could definitely not happen. This city was not built for rain, it was build for sand and sun. Rain turns everything slick and the drain systems aren’t necessarily high volume and we walk outside between buildings under tarps that are meant for sun, not water. And the rain kept falling.

We had first period, and my students were so excited by the rain that they didn’t even want to concentrate. But they were happy and once they were working, they were okay with it. But the hallways were slowly getting flooded with water, and workers had to come with their squeegees to get the centimeters of water to move somewhere less hazardous.

And the parents were told to come take their children home. And everything was wet and there was no way anything could be done. And shortly after noon, the high school got to go home. The department of education had declared that schools had to be evacuated.

Because here in Abu Dhabi, we will never get a snow day. But if it rains, we get a rain day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The rarity of rain

  1. callistonian says:

    I don’t why, but I love this post. Regardless of location and whether it’s snow or rain, the magic of a day off from school seems the same.

  2. Kristine says:

    Reminds me of the time when classes had to be canceled in deep south Texas because of “ice” on the road. (Clearly, it almost never snows there.)

  3. Stephanie says:

    This reminds me of that really big shopping mall in Santa Monica that doesn’t have roofs over the hallways. šŸ˜› Hopefully, all the buildings in Abu Dhabi survive!

Leave a Reply

