Around we go

I know that everybody is sick of me talking about my boyfriend IRL, so I just don’t do it most of the time. They’re tired of hearing that we broke up or we’re fighting or we’re back together or he’s being annoying or I’m being a bitch. It’s boring to everyone except for us. I really do try my best to not talk about him unless somebody else brings him up, out of consideration to their disinterest. It’s not nice to force people to feign interest to be polite, you know?

But I refuse to censor myself on here! So may your eyes glaze over and may you skip to the next entry on your feeds if you so desire.

We’re back together, question mark. We’re back to spending time together and going out together, etc. But we’re still talking about some issues. But we’re still with each other all the time. But… Ok, fine, we’re back together. (He spent a good ten minutes coercing me to state that yesterday.)

But this time it will be different! (She says for the hundredth time.) This time I will speak up all the time, instead of just most of the time. When he is rude, I will firmly tell him right then and there. I will not bottle up hundreds of tiny annoyances. I will either tell him my issue or let it go. I will try my best to be the nicest of nice to him (when I can, i.e. when I’m not being a moody Gemini) to encourage him to return the favor. I will be more affectionate and supportive and caring.

Notice that all of these are things that I will do? Because Lord knows I will never change him. But I like him all the same overall and I am happier when I am with him, which is still the bottom line, as I once upon a time told Amanda. And that is still true, so I am still with him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Around we go

  1. Manda says:

    I have nothing really worth saying about this, because I have been where you are and know that no one will “get it” the way you do, and that you will do what you need to do to because, well, that’s what you’re supposed to do. (Am I making any sense at all? I don’t think so, but oh well.) What I’m trying to say is that if you’re happy, then I am happy for you, and that is really all that matters to me because obviously you are more than capable of making your own decisions about your happiness 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    I guess that for you two, “breaking up” really just means “in a fight”, which is perfectly fine. If people are confused, then let them be confused!

    I meant to write this comment on your last post about your boyfriend, but it fits here too: I’ve been dating the same guy for about four and a half years and in that period, I’ve tried to break up with him three times. The first time was because I was irritated and stressed-out, the last two times was because dating someone many people in my life disapproved of was tearing me apart, and because I was stressed-out and cranky and irritable. But, we’re still together, ad I’m a stronger and better person for it.

    Whatever happens with you and him, I hope that you’re happy, because that’s really all that matters.

  3. It took me a long time to figure this out, but I love relationships I have to constantly work at. Someone that is always willing to sate me bores me and is also probably stupid (because a lot of times I’m blatantly wrong, but if I can convince you I’m right….) Love is complex and complicated. The type of relationship that makes one couple happy may not make the another couple happy. As long as you’re both into each other and there’s no abuse, it sounds like a love story to me. 🙂

  4. Georgia Kate says:

    I agree with Manda — I don’t have any authority or right, really, to comment on the situation, but so long as you are happy then so am I.

    Take care! xx

Leave a Reply

