Life without Internet

Interestingly, while that post about technology invading classrooms was posting here as scheduled, my Internet was stone-cold dead. For three long days. It happened because my roommate and I failed to pay our bill, so I couldn’t even be mad about it. In our defense, the company makes it extremely difficult to do so. They’re only open after 5, which seems lovely until it’s the weekend and you’re far too busy and important to be at a mall paying your bill in the near-evening time. So then you don’t pay it until the work week starts, which means three days of mornings/afternoons without access to the world wide web.

It was probably good for me to have that free time. When I woke up, I couldn’t pass the time with watching shows or movies online. I had no way to check up on blogs or do any posting of my own. There was no Facebook to stalk or Candy Crush to play. And that is basically the entirety of what I do until I get up and ready for eating and being merry.

So what did I do while lounging around the house? Well, I read two books. (Bossypants by Tina Fey was amazing and if you haven’t read it, get on that immediately.) I did yoga for the first time in over a month. I created a wonderful hangover dish of ramen and labneh. (Labneh is strained yogurt. Some people call it “Greek yogurt,” which is ridiculous since it’s far more Middle Eastern than Greek.) I played some Sims 4. I did a spot of cleaning.

I wouldn’t necessarily label the weekend more productive than any other weekend, overall. But it was an interesting trade, to have to supplement my laziness with other methods of entertainment than my usual Internet laziness. I wouldn’t be opposed to doing it every few weeks. Perhaps we should always fail to pay the bill, in the interest of mixing it up. A book instead of fifty articles. Sims instead of Candy Crush. Yoga instead of totally not moving for hours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life without Internet

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Sometimes I flex my neck a bit so I can see the TV screen better from behind the laptop – is that sort of yoga?? šŸ˜‰

  2. hoaphamvt says:

    This happened to me as well. The difference was I slept all day (if not working) while you were doing great things šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

