Happy New Year!

Last night I went all the way across the hall to my friend’s apartment for a New Year’s Eve party. We watched the Dubai fireworks on TV for the countdown and you could see the gridlock traffic surrounding the area when they did fly-by shots. And we all laughed at the silly people sitting in their cars for New Year’s Eve. Many people had suggested that I go to Dubai for New Year’s Eve and I had just laughed and laughed.

And then the fireworks broke the World Record. Because if you’re not going to beat a record, it’s not worth doing. (That is the unofficial motto of the UAE.)

There were a lot of Irish people at the party, including a boy with an accordion. When he would play the Irish songs, all the other Irish people would get super excited and start stomping so loud that it was clear they were expert stompers. And I learned how to play “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” on the recorder, although it was surprisingly difficult to keep the holes covered all the time. (I blame my tiny hands. Also maybe the alcohol.) I also re-met a guy that I had previously met when he was dressed as Frodo. (He still looks like Frodo.) When I told him that I was going to call him Frodo because I didn’t know his name, he told me his name was “Brrnrrr.” So I said, “Burner??” But apparently I’m supposed to pronounce “Bernard,” as if it’s more akin to “Brrnrrr.”

There were other nationalities too. The South Africans sang their national anthem with its five different languages. The Americans insisted that we totally know our national anthem too! Even though we don’t actually know the words beyond “Oh say can you see, by the dawn’s early light.” And we definitely would never perform it. The Lebanese people had both been born in this country, so they couldn’t sing the Lebanese anthem, but they knew the UAE anthem so well that they attempted to teach it to the accordion player.

I never could have predicted such a New Year’s Eve. It was wonderful, and I hope yours were also wonderful. And may 2014 be a wonderful year overall!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Sounds like the perfect NYE party! You can beat the Irish for stomping 😉 It’s a national hobby!

  2. Karin says:

    That does sound like a pretty amazing New Year’s Eve! It’s usually fun when you get lots of different nationalities together to party like that. 🙂 Happy 2014!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Happy (belated) New Year! That sounds like an awesome party, and pictures of the Dubai fireworks look gorgeous (and loud), but mostly gorgeous. I wonder how many pyrotechnics they will use next year. There isn’t too much room for more fireworks I think!

    I can totally sing all the words to “The Star Spangled Banner”, but probably only because I was one of the people performing it at every home football game in high school. 😛

Leave a Reply

