Communication

I mentioned in the last entry that perhaps my boyfriend could convince me to get back together with him if he was better at communication. By which I mean that I write him logical responses that pinpoint specific arguments, and he just calls me ten times in a row, even though he knows I will not answer.

It’s still communication though. It makes me think about him, it tells me that he’s thinking about me.

I never learned Arabic. I tried, briefly, but it was for my benefit rather than his. I never tried for him.

People like to spout off platitudes. It’s my biggest pet peeve. “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” “Love is all you need.” “No pain, no gain.” What the hell do they mean?

I find that words mean less and less these days. Which is a shame because I once upon a time wanted to be a writer. But what’s the point? Isn’t is all just a lot of blah blah blah?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Communication

  1. Stephanie says:

    Out of curiosity, do you think a language barrier made your relationship harder than it should have been? I wouldn’t want to date anyone who wasn’t good at speaking English for that reason. I also assume this is partly why some international students I’ve met prefer to date people from the same country.

    I nerve know how much weight and meaning to put on words. To my frustration, valuing words differently than other people had been the source of several fights. I hope that either you two will get back together or that he stops being an annoying ex and moves on.

    • mmarinaa says:

      Haha, yes. Originally this entry was going to be about our language barrier. But also about how there is more to communication than the literal language skills of either party. I got too lazy to make a thorough argument though.

      Which isn’t to say that his English is bad, actually. He’s better than a German friend I have here, but she’s probably easier to communicate with for other reasons that I can’t quite pinpoint. (I want to be sexist and say it’s because she’s a girl, but that would be sexist.) So I hate to oversimplify and say “language barrier” because that implies he doesn’t know the words. It’s definitely more than just a language barrier….

Leave a Reply

