One more week

I have one more week before I head back to Abu Dhabi. In all honesty, I look forward to being back. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the opportunity to spend two months traveling and seeing old friends. It’s great to see new countries and old homes and attempt to reconnect with my people.

But I miss having an apartment of my own. I don’t necessarily miss working, obviously, but I do miss having a routine. I miss having people in my life that I see daily. I miss being around people who know all the details of my life and don’t ask about what we eat in Abu Dhabi. (People in America have quite a fixation on food, I’ve noticed. I cannot think of a single person with whom I didn’t talk about food.)

IMG_0403

The huge plant by the window is my mother’s and will probably take up more space than my crap once I condense it all. It’s a monster plant.

My bedroom currently looks like the photo to the right. I had the things from my storage unit moved to my mom’s house and I’m in the process of going through the items and attempting to sell off the larger pieces. It’s a shitshow at the moment. But eventually I will have streamlined my possessions to the items I actually want, rather than the current accumulation of useless nostalgia and clothes that I no longer find remotely attractive. It’s not going to take a week though; I’ll probably be done in two days. Which leaves five days to go out and accumulate more things because I have nothing else to do with my time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

