Nokia love

nokialove

I don’t know if this is true of other countries, but I certainly never had a Nokia phone in America. Here, they are everywhere. Everyone has one as a backup for when they lose their primary phone. A lot of people have it as a second phone that they don’t answer/take out/give the number out. The one that my ex bought me back when we first started dating three years ago (after I’d lost the old one) still works like a charm. They’re basically The Phone to have.

People used to mock me for not having a smart phone because I had my Nokia for two years as my only phone, which is far too long for someone who can afford better. And in response, I used to throw my Nokia at a wall. The back would pop off and the battery would pop out, but it was as good as new when I would put it back together. And then I’d say, “I dare you to do that with your iPhone.”

Now, I have a Blackberry from like five years ago, (it was gifted to me by a friend who was leaving,) which I am also mocked for. But I can’t pull the same trick, sadly. (I usually respond by stating snobbishly, “It’s vintage.”) And while I love my smart phone, there are definitely, definitely times when I miss my good old trusty Nokia.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nokia love

  1. Kristine says:

    I would settle with a Nokia phone if I didn’t care for apps! I loved my very first cellphone, which was a Nokia back, when I was in middle school. That thing was built like a tank.

  2. BerLinda says:

    I’ve got a back-up Nokia too 😉 I think it’s around 5 years old now. I find it much easier to text on but I couldn’t do without the internet on my phone!

  3. Mrs. Wife says:

    Since I’m older, I had my Nokia back in college. I love it! I think it was the first really fun phone to own and probably created some of the earliest phone tech geeks. Seriously, there was a cult following!

    Since we’re sharing dropping stories, I once dropped my Nokia from a second story balcony and it hit the concrete below with full force. But, like yours, the back popped out and the battery popped out and once they were replaced, the phone was good as new! 😛

Leave a Reply

