Seriously, how do I find smarter friends?

Tkanyewo of the chat groups I’m on in Whatsapp posted an image similar to the one on the right. It’s a quote from Kevin Hart turned meme. And it’s awful on so many levels.

First, being a woman is equatable to being an alcoholic or a crackhead? Are the two (female) friends who posted the image truly aware that they’re reposting shit that alludes to such an equability?

Second, all of those people were those things before they met the Kardashians. Scott met Kourtney while they were both big in the partying scene. Lamar has struggled with drugs forever and failed drug tests long before he met Khloe. And Bruce made it very clear that he’s felt like a woman for his entire life.

I don’t really want to rant about this in the chat groups, but Caitlyn Jenner has shown me which of my friends are transphobic assholes. And misogynistic idiots. Both in those who lol-ed at the meme and others who linked to that ridiculously stupid New York Times article about “what makes a woman” to their Facebooks. It all makes me absurdly depressed.

I just have to remember that I had a much more open conversation about the topic this past weekend with other friends. And even my non-Western, naive-to-social-nonconformity boyfriend just sort of shrugged and said, “I guess he can do what he wants.” (We were watching Keeping Up with the Kardashians and I told him that Bruce was a woman now, so the gender pronoun was even appropriate.) Because who the hell are we to even have an opinion on her choice, much less make derogatory comments about it? Live your own lives and stop judging people you know nothing about! And definitely don’t post your naive opinions where your friends will see it, judge what they now know about you, and reconsider the entire friendship.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seriously, how do I find smarter friends?

  1. MJD says:

    I never comment on your blog but just wanna say I loveeee this post! ❤

  2. Ceri says:

    Agree with MJD. Right on!

  3. Michelle says:

    Agreed. Even my friends are assholes and I wish they could be smarter than they are, but I can’t be afforded that luxury. Plus I kept seeing from my friends that what Caitlyn Jenner’s transition was a mental illness. I suffer from real mental illness and I nearly went off at this friend. I was polite, but my friends are idiots. I feel you deeply about this and how they joke at people’s expense. Angers me. Don’t they know they can’t be idiots forever, that youth can’t excuse them forever? I think they believe they are invincible and that’s fine for the moment, but it won’t last. One day they will grow up or not, and regardless, I won’t be there.

  4. Some guy says:

    You can start by not watching such drivel and attending events where smarter people would be more common – public lectures, libraries, etc.

Leave a Reply

