Misconceptions

While I was in America, I realized that there are certain things that some people seem to think about my life/the world/Arabs/the Middle East that are not necessarily true.

They think my choices are severely limited in regards to food. While I admit that I was overwhelmed by the insane amount of choices in America, (why does a bodega need fifty types of chips?) I can still get almost everything I want here. People would ask me what foods I wanted that I can’t get here and I couldn’t truly think of anything. Abu Dhabi has a very international population, with cuisine options to match.

They think media doesn’t reach outside America. Countless people asked me if they had “this song” (whatever song that might be) in Abu Dhabi. And I had to remind them that even if it wasn’t played in clubs (as most popular songs are) there was also this Internet thing that carried media all over the world.

They think all people can travel easily. Non-Americans/Westerners cannot travel easily, dear privileged passport holders. People seem to think my boyfriend can just hop on over to the States to meet my family and friends, no problem. And I’m staring at them like, “You’re kidding, right?” So then I have to tell them anecdotes about the numerous people I know who’ve been rejected by the American embassy. And then I have to explain that even Americans have to get visas to visit certain lands.

They think sheikh is pronounced “sheek.” It’s not, it’s pronounced “shake.” I know this is the media’s fault, but seriously, who started that one?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Misconceptions

  1. Edna says:

    Actually didn’t know the sheikh one! Whoops.

  2. Michelle says:

    Now, I know more than I ever did. I didn’t know about the Sheikh one either. Thank you for correcting us.

  3. Liz says:

    I’ve never heard about/knew what the sheikh was, so that one is new on me. However, the rest of those are just… it reminds me of the various people in my life who were surprised to learn Texas is not all dirt roads and desert, and that we don’t use horses for our only transportation—that we have cars, too. >.<

    • mmarinaa says:

      Haha! This is highly amusing to me, that people truly think that of Texas. Especially since I had the most fun driving through Texas. They were fantastic, speedy drivers in when I drove through.

  4. Amanda says:

    I just realised i had no idea how to pronounce sheikh, but it had never crossed my mind, since I’d never had to say it out loud, hmm.

Leave a Reply

