Merry Christmas!

Christmas in Bethlehem

Christmas in Bethlehem

I’m in Istanbul with my love. And it has been absolutely amazing. He’s at mosque right now, so I have a moment to write this. Before writing this, I posted the image to the right to my facebook. And then I posted something on my Instagram about the Prophet’s birthday (pbuh.) Which was yesterday, in case you were wondering. And now everybody probably thinks I’ve converted to Islam and am moving to Palestine.

Yesterday at the Grand Bazaar, my boyfriend told this Syrian salesman that we were married and that I was Palestinian now. At another point in the trip, we were looking up how impossible it would be for him to come to the wedding in Tanzania I’m going to after Istanbul. Spoiler alert, very impossible. The visa process for him takes roughly two months and even then, visas are whimsically rejected all the time.

Muslims celebrate Christmas too, in case you were wondering. The hotel we’re staying in finally just brought us two extra pillows that we’ve been asking about for days. So obviously they’re in the giving mood today. The man who brought them greeted me with “Marhaba.” Then got confused by my obvious non-Arabness and switched to English. (I’m assuming my boyfriend requested the pillows on his way out and thus the Arab assumption, haha.)

At the Grand Bazaar, someone asked if I was German and I ignored his silliness. Someone else suggested I look French, and I accepted that one because my students also seem to think that. But perhaps it is because none of them know what Latvian or Polish people look like. (I look exactly like both of my ethnic backgrounds. I met a Latvian girl once and it was like looking in a mirror. And I also somehow look exactly like my mother, who is the Polish half of my genes.) I suppose in terms of the traveling population, there are far more Germans and French people. Nobody guessed I was American though, and I’m sure they make up a good part of the traveling population. Perhaps because I’m with a man who looks Turkish. (Everyone talks to him in Turkish. And it’s hilarious. Because he can respond with basic stuff, but then he literally just makes up sounds. It’s fantastic to watch. Especially when they somehow figure out what he means.)

This entry is all over the place. But the point of the entry is merry Christmas! Yay!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. Edna says:

    Merry Christmas! You seem much happier in this post. Enjoy and happy new year!

  2. Kristine says:

    YAY! Sounds like you are doing well. Enjoy your time with the bf. ❤

Leave a Reply

