Year in Review

This is a scheduled post, as I am probably off drinking with my love. 2015 has been tumultuous because of him leaving Abu Dhabi. We watched Love Actually the other day and that part where the kid talks about the “total agony of love,” yeah, we felt that a lot. Because it is horrible to love someone and for life to insert itself and demand that you not be together all the time or have it totally easy.

Which isn’t to say that it was all agony, of course, not even close. The love itself was amazing. I started off the year wrapped up in him, newly in love, fully committed, fantastic. Our biggest problem was his lack of job, but even that didn’t really matter because I am perfectly capable of supporting my own life. Or perhaps our biggest problem was his Palestinian culture, which made us have very different ideas of what our future might look like. Yet also very similar ideas too. But those first few months of 2015 were just a blur of him and me, having amazing times.

In April, I went to Spain with two friends. Leaving my boyfriend at the airport was surprisingly heart-wrenching. But I had an amazing time in Spain, especially Madrid.

spain

I also finally paid off my credit card debt in April, which meant I cared even less about the fact that my boyfriend was jobless, haha.

In May, there was a brunch on this amazing island that was one of the most fun days out with all my friend. In June, I planned my own birthday celebration, which was a new thing for me, who hates the idea of my birthday. But it turned out to be a really fun night, and I was happy I had done it.

I ended the school year experiencing a bit of Ramadan, which mostly sucked because it affected what my boyfriend could and could not do. But soon enough, I was off to America for my yearly pilgrimage to the homeland. I started in my hometown, then went to New York, and then to Colorado. Contrary to the awkwardness of me in the picture below, Colorado was probably the most enjoyable part of this summer in America.

colorado

In August I returned to Abu Dhabi and returned to work, this time with a new position teaching IB and in a brand new, enormous building that the school built. Which meant I had my own classroom, for the first time in four years. Which has been absolutely amazing.

In September, I found out my boyfriend was moving to Northern Cyprus. I literally did not know how to respond when he told me in that restaurant. I didn’t know what he wanted. What it meant for us. What our future could possibly look like. I also didn’t know when he was leaving, and neither did he. His leave date kept getting pushed further back, and each time I thought he was leaving, it hurt as if he truly had left.

At the end of October, two friends from the States visited us here in Abu Dhabi. My boyfriend still hadn’t left yet, so they got to meet him too, which was nice. But then in the beginning of November, he left. It was stunningly difficult being apart from him. There was also drama with my best friend and her fiance, which cut me to the core. And I struggled to be nice to my roommate. And nothing seemed easy, not even buying a car. Everything was a trial.

Until now, when I’ve been able to spend these blissful days with him in Istanbul. And everything is easy when I’m with him. And I hope that 2016 allows us to be together more!

istanbul

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year in Review

  1. Kristine says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! I’m glad you can enjoy the new year with the boyfriend. ❤ I'm actually still in Philly with Jackson so I know how it feels. Happy new year, M! ❤

  2. BerLinda says:

    Awww, sounds like you guys are meant to be together – best of luck in the new year! And sending you some fireworks from Germany. We have lots to spare… 😉

Leave a Reply

