I feel like I’ve been here before….

I’m currently sitting with my foot up on a pile of pillows. Because last night, in my drunken brilliance, I decided to jump off a ledge that was roughly… I don’t know. I lowered myself off the ledge so that I was maybe eight feet off the ground before I jumped. But then I stuck the landing. Apparently I should have rolled as I fell or some such nonsense. Whatever. I doubt it’s broken, but I definitely can’t walk on it at the moment. I’ve been hopping around the apartment in a most ridiculous fashion.

The reason for my drunken state was a bachelorette party. Which was a complete mess. So many poor decisions on so many people’s parts.

I, for some reason, ended up following my idiot best friend around all night. She is really awful when she’s drunk. Especially when we’re in Dubai and she’s not with her husband (who usually watches her instead of me.) I ended up sitting with her on the fucking street while she played guitar with some random dude who happened to be carrying two guitars at three in the morning. We had also earlier gotten ourselves kicked out of a bar because of their shitty service and our rebellious protest. They called us into the manager’s office and were all sorts of serious and we just kept laughing at them. Because it was their own fault, really. If you want people to behave in a bar, you have to give them appropriate service or they’re going to be dumb. They are drunk, afteralll.

It’s my own fault that I hurt my foot though. Dubai makes me insanely frustrated, as do group outings, and I was sick of waiting around for my drunk best friend. So when it was either walk around the block or jump the ledge, I just wanted to fucking get to a bed and sleep already. Seriously poor choice…. I forget how old and fragile I am.

Ironically, after jumping the ledge we never made it to the beds we were trying to get to. By that point (because of the fucking guitar playing hour on the street) everyone was passed out and incomunicado. So we had to take a taxi all the way back to Abu Dhabi, which costs roughly 250 dirhams (around 70 USD). Which doesn’t sound like a lot when I convert it to dollars, but it’s a lot for a taxi here, haha.

I should add that we were dressed up in absolutely hideous, ridiculous outfits as well because bachelorette party. Le sigh.

I am glad that we have such fantastic stories to tell. But I am not glad that I fucked up my foot. I vow to drink more responsibly henceforth. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

