Rain Days

Here in Abu Dhabi, it never snows. And it rarely rains. But two nights ago I was woken up by the sound of windows rattling and hail knocking at 4am. I got up and looked outside to see debris swirling around the parking lot and into the sky. It looked quite apocalyptic. I went online and learned that school was most definitely closed for the day.

Because we get rain days here.

Which was really quite a good thing. The day before had rained on-and-off all day, with moments of seriously heavy downpour, so when I got to my car after work, I already had to drive it through some substantial pools of water. Roads here are not used to more than an occasional drizzle (roughly four times a year; otherwise it’s sunshine forever) so they aren’t necessarily engineered for torrential downpour. So, many roads flooded, with some sections needing to be closed off. And throughout the day, people started posting videos of the high winds (130kmph!) trashing buildings and slamming loose objects around mercilessly.

Schools also got a second rain day off today “for the safety of the children and staff,” although I think it’s really moreso to give time to schools to clean up the messes that the weather caused. It’s sunny at the moment, with a theoretical spattering of rain predicted in a few hours. But I think at this point, we can all sit back and enjoy our four day weekend.

There are a ton of videos of the mayhem all over my social media at the moment. But I have to say that this one was my favorite. The guy personally takes it upon himself to start cleaning up a road that’s been trashed by tree debris. Too amazing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain Days

  1. Shaw says:

    Wow that’s amazing! I’m surprised that there’s someone out there who would take the responsibility to do stuff like that without being told. Sounds like an interesting place. I personally wouldn’t mind having off days over rain :X But then again, I wouldn’t want it to flood and I love the rain too much for it to be an occasional thing.

Leave a Reply

