And we’re back

I recently watched the last season of The Good Wife, (which is an amazing show and I’m so sad it’s done.) In the season, there’s an episode where this character, Eli, gets fired by his boss. The firing is not because of any real fault on his part, but rather because his boss thinks that it would be in his best interest, that he should be moving on to new projects. And for a few days he’s fired. But then he decides he doesn’t like it, so he goes back to his boss and stands in front of her and says something along the lines of: “I don’t accept being fired.” And she replies, “Ok.” And they go back to working together and everything is lovely and normal again.

After I watched it, I wrote myself a note that said, “Be Eli. Get a job.” Because if I had a job, my ex and I wouldn’t have any problems. A lack of job causes stress and overthinking and pessimism about the whole situation. Moving to Cyprus without any comfort of an income seems ridiculous on paper. But if I had a job, there is no problem. But then I started thinking about it, and if the job was the only problem, there wasn’t really a problem. So I said as much. I told him that it was ridiculous to be broken up over a problem that wasn’t a problem in our relationship. If we would still be together if I had a job, then we should still be together and at least try to make the situation work. And he replied, “Ok.”

And then, after all the stress of weeks of back and forth, because God surely has a sense of humor, only after all of that and agreeing to be back together even if I had to move there without a job, only then did I get a job in Cyprus…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we’re back

  1. Tiny May says:

    As long as you’re happy, dear. ❤ Sometimes we make rash decisions when things are changing and stress is unavoidable.

  2. Georgie says:

    *hugs* I hope everything looks up for you.

Leave a Reply

