Stress over nothing

I have 2.5 more weeks in Abu Dhabi. My friends are currently on some safari thing out on some island; I declined to go because it is a trillion degrees and a billion percent humidity. Plus I also loathe group activities. They kept going on about how it’s something you have to do before you leave Abu Dhabi (many of my friends are also two weeks away from leaving this city for new ones to work in.) But I honestly don’t want to do anything before I leave here. I want to just continue living my life the way it is up until the moment I get on a plane to leave this place possibly for the last time…

Except that I know it won’t be the last time. Living in Cyprus next year will make it very convenient to visit and my best friend here has a spare bedroom waiting for me. Plus when habibi finishes his ridiculous education, I fully intend to convince him to move back here.

So it’s natural that I don’t feel any impetus to do anything momentous with my last two weeks. However, I do feel a tension. As if there are a million things I have to do before I go, in terms of errands and paperwork and tying up loose ends. Today, for example, perhaps I should be doing something productive instead of lying in bed in my pajamas all day doing nothing. There must surely be something I should get done today….

Must go figure out what it is. Ta ta.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stress over nothing

  1. Georgie says:

    I am in Paris at the moment, travelling, doing the usual touristy stuff. People make a big deal out of visiting certain places, but everyone has their own must-see list. I saw Stonehenge in England because I wanted to see it since I was a little kid. Everyone was telling me it was just a bunch of rocks. But I thought it was magnificent and there was no way I was missing that. Take it at your own pace and do what you want – most of the time we will find a way to come back if there is something we missed or didn’t get to see. And if not, it’s not really the end of the world. You’ll know if there is something you want to do because you would have done it already. 🙂

  2. ongakutenshi says:

    Good luck with all of that. I don’t blame you for not wanting to go out in that kind of heat. I nearly cry every time someone at work wants me to leave the building and it is only 90 degrees here. The humidity is bad though – feels like Huston.

  3. Karin says:

    I agree with Georgie, don’t feel like you “have” to do/see certain things if you don’t want to. If it’s not important to you then it isn’t, and if you change your mind you can always come back at some other time. 🙂 Besides, we all need those days when we just lounge around doing nothing once in a while, especially if it’s a trillion degrees outside.

  4. Pauline says:

    I think it’s awesome that you declined like that, I usually get pressured and stressed by group activities and in that situation would’ve probably ended up going D:

    That must be exciting going to live in a new city, I’m looking forward to this post-graduation!

Leave a Reply

