It’s been awhile

Sometimes I fall off the face of the Internet. I get tied up in my own life. We went back to Abu Dhabi for winter break about a month ago. None of my closest friends were in town, using their breaks to travel to other countries, but we still got to be in Abu Dhabi. And we decided that we’re moving back ASAP.

The reason we’re in North Cyprus is solely on the basis of bae having a scholarship to a school here. (They give out scholarships to basically anyone, it’s not an impressive thing.) But the loneliness of living here is not good for us. People here are tied up in their lives and their cliques and it’s hard to break into their circles. Plus if I’m completely honest, I don’t care to break in. I find it far more relaxing to stick to my routines and fall back into being introverted than to really stretch my extroversion to reach out to strangers. I’m relatively ok at becoming friends with friends of friends, but I just don’t have the outgoing nature to reach out to silent strangers across the room.

Plus this country is awful and inconvenient. Plus the weather has been disgustingly cold and rainy. Plus bae’s school is a total scam, really. Plus my salary is a total scam, really. So… back to Abu Dhabi seems like it will make us happiest.

To be honest, there’s a million problems with the plan to move back to Abu Dhabi. Not literally a million, but enough. But it’s the best option.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s been awhile

  1. Georgie says:

    Good luck – if it’s the best option I know you will make it work, blood, sweat, tears and all 🙂

  2. TinyMay says:

    ❤ It's been awhile, indeed! Best of luck with the move. Honestly, I don't know how you do it (live the life of an expat), but moving is a huge pain in the ass. I'm actually moving to my new apartment this week and it's just a few miles away and I'm dreading it.

    I hope to hear more from you, though. BTW, is everything all good with the marriage – is it finally official??

    • mmarinaa says:

      Haha, nope, not yet! We’re going to Seychelles next week and we picked that locale solely because it’s supposed to be relatively easy to get a legal marriage. Fingers crossed that no problems get in our way this time!

      • TinyMay says:

        I can’t believe I’m barely reading this reply! ❤ OMG wishing y'all the best! Fingers crossed that everything goes smoothly. ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

