It is my birthday (for 2 more hours)

Today I am 27. To be perfectly honest, I don’t think I ever accepted that I was 26. When people would ask how old I was, I would immediately answer, “25,” then after a moment, laugh and correct myself. “No, wait, I’m 26. 26….” I have no idea how I will ever accept that I am 27.

I tend to be melodramatic about my swiftly passing youth. Which annoys my older friends to no end. But it really is a sad thing, this getting older business.

It’s not all bad though. There was a fun party. There was a nice dinner. There was a cake in the freezer and a lovely gift from my mother. There are nice messages. Apparently the mature thing to do these days is send Facebook messages rather than just writing on walls, which makes me inclined to respond personally to each, which leads to catching up with friends I haven’t spoken to in awhile. It’s really not all bad.

And I hope you had a not all bad day too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It is my birthday (for 2 more hours)

  1. Kristine says:

    Happy birthday, Marina! I hope you got drunk for your birthday. πŸ˜›

  2. Liv says:

    Happy birthday! My manager turned 27 two weeks ago and said at this point just a nice little celebration will do! Hope you had a nice time. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment